Mapping Muslim Family Laws globally


Mapping of Muslim Family Laws globally

Since 2012, Musawah has been researching Muslim family laws and practices that enforce de jure and de facto discrimination against women in various Muslim majority and minority countries. Our report on CEDAW and Muslim Family Laws tracked CEDAW compliance in addressing discriminations against Muslim women on family law matters in 44 different countries.

Through Musawah’s work in international advocacy, capacity building and knowledge building, a strong need to map out and track positive developments in Muslim family laws globally emerged. In 2016 we began compiling information outlining the legislative frameworks, available case law, policies, procedures and practices in 31 countries on the following 12 principal issues of concern.

The initiative also tracks reform and Positive Developments in Muslim Family Laws globally, in the above 12 principal issues of concern. 

The diversity of provisions and practices in Muslim family laws across the world and the ongoing process of reform of these laws in multiple countries, demonstrates that change towards more egalitarian family laws which gurantee equality and justice to Muslim women and men, is both necessary and possible

The following country overview tables were prepared in consultation with national advocates and experts and are still work-in-progress given the diverse and evolving nature of law reform globally. Additional data analysis of these tables are ongoing. We plan to begin visually mapping global facts, trends and information on Muslim family laws and will be updating our website accordingly. 

As this is an ongoing initiative, we invite feedback and any verification of information, as well as submission of any additional information and updates on the countries listed. Please email us at to get in touch and/or discuss collaborative ways of using this information.

MAJORITY-MUSLIM COUNTRIES                                                          

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Algeria
  3. Bahrain                                                                                                                 
  4. Bangladesh
  5. Brunei
  6. Egypt
  7. Indonesia
  8. Iraq
  9. Jordan
  10. Kuwait
  11. Lebanon
  12. Libya
  13. Malaysia
  14. Mali
  15. Mauritania
  16. Morocco
  17. Nigeria
  18. Oman
  19. Pakistan
  20. Palestine
  21. Qatar
  22. Saudi Arabia
  23. Syria
  24. Tunisia
  25. Turkey
  26. United Arab Emirates
  27. Yemen


  1. Kenya
  2. Singapore
  3. Sri Lanka 
  4. South Africa




Printer Friendly and PDF